FSOAS Constitution and Rules



1. The Association shall be called "The Football Safety Officers Association Scotland" and be known as FSOAS.



2. The objectives of the Association shall be to:

a) Have exchanges of information regarding football safety for the benefit and in the interests of individual members, their Clubs' and clients.
b) Assist where possible with any matters affecting members.

These objectives shall be achieved by conferences, meetings, seminars and other events arranged on a non-profit basis.



3. To qualify for membership of the Association the individual must:

a) Be currently engaged in football safety and security as a Safety Officer a Deputy or Assistant Safety Officer and employed by a Club recognised by the Scottish Football Association (SFA) and the Scottish Premier League (SPL) and the Scottish Football Leagues (SFL) or other licensed sports venue.


Operational Structure


The Executive Committee

The current Executive Committee comprises:


Brian Muir

Hampden Park

Kerrydale St



Vice Chairman

Alan Marshall
Safety and Facilities Manager
Motherwell Football Club
Fir Park Stadium
Firpark Street
Motherwell ML1 2QN


Executive Secretariat

Lisa Muir

Celtic Park


G40 3RE


Training Director
Alistair Cameron
Safety Officer
Falkirk Football Club
6 Stadium Way
Falkirk FK2 9EE


Membership Director
Keith Hogg
Operations Safety Manager
Falkirk Football Club
6 Stadium Way
Falkirk FK2 9EE


Jim Thomson
Operations Director
Dundee Football Club
Dens Park
Dundee DD3 7JY


Robbie McGregor
Operations Advisor
The Hibernian Football Club Limited
Easter Road Stadium
12 Albion Place
Edinburgh EH7 5QG


Willie Beattie
Aberdeen Football Club plc
Pittodrie Stadium
Pittodrie Street
Aberdeen, AB24 5QH


Peter McLaughlin
Head of Security
Scottish Football Association
National Stadium


Secretary and Honorary President

Mr Ronnie Hawthorn


Honorary Vice President

Mr John Morgan



The Association, to enhance its overall objective to improve safety at football grounds, adopt best practice; enhance stewarding and safety officers' expertise; and to stimulate greater debate in less formal settings than the National forum, is sub-divided into 3 Regional areas


The North/North East

Aberdeen, Arbroath, Brechin City, Dundee, Dundee United, Elgin City, Forfar Athletic, Inverness Caledonian Thistle, Montrose, Peterhead, Ross County and Saint Johnstone


The West/South West

Airdrie United, Albion Rovers, Annan Athletic, Ayr United, Celtic, Dumbarton, Hamilton Academical, Kilmarnock, Morton, Motherwell, Partick Thistle, Queen of the South, Queen's Park, Rangers, Saint Mirren and Stranraer


The Central/East

Alloa, Berwick Rangers, Clyde, Cowdenbeath, Dunfermline, East Fife, East Stirlingshire, Falkirk, Heart of Midlothian, Hibernian, Livingston, Raith Rovers, Stenhousemuir and Stirling Albion


Each Region has its own Chairman, Vice-Chairman, Secretary and Treasurer and meets twice per annum.




Football Safety Report Legal Reports